David Ross Education Trust

Our mission is to give every child attending one of our schools a world-class education.

Our People

Our People

The Trust has over 1,900 staff committed to improving the life chances of young people across the network.

While the Trust provides the framework and foundations, our successes are the collective efforts and achievements of everyone associated with the network.

This is underpinned by the vision of the Trustees, and supported by the expertise of the Trust’s Chief Executive, Directors and Heads of Service and the educationalists who work across the Trust to ensure best practice and innovation is embraced and embedded.


  • Rowena Hackwood
    Chief Executive Officer
  • Mark Neild
    Deputy Chief Executive Officer
  • Simon Rose
    Director of Education - Primary
  • Jane Spencer
    Chief Finance Officer
  • Rod Warsap
    Regional Director - Primary (Central/South)
  • Wendy Baxter
    Regional Director - Primary (North)

Education Team

  • Sandra Appleby
    Regional Director
  • Nicki Taylor
    Operations Manager
  • Janey Cooksley
    Primary English Strategic Lead
  • Kim Duff
    Primary Core Knowledge Curriculum Lead
  • Simon Toyne
    Executive Director of Music

Heads of Service

  • Maria Maltby
    Head of Governance
  • Ellis Jacklin
    Head of IT
  • Gary McGinty
    Head of Asset Management
  • Shane Ward
    Head of Sports Enrichment


  • David Ross
  • Christine Counsell
  • David Hall
  • The Rt Revd John Holbrook
  • Sir Andrew Foster
  • Joanne Hoareau
  • Ben Brown
  • Nigel Langstaff
  • Richard Emerton
  • Tracey Maloney